Comparison

Fire Inspection Fee by City: What 23 Large U.S. Cities Charge Businesses

We opened the fire prevention fee schedules of the 50 largest U.S. cities and priced the same restaurant and office in the 23 that could be applied.
Primary data
Fire Life and Safety compilation of 25 city fire prevention fee schedules (31 documents)
Data period
Schedules in force on 2026-10-27 (document dates 2015 to 2026)
Latest release used
2026-10-27
Next release
Rechecked each July, when most city fiscal years start
Geography
23 of the 50 largest U.S. cities (Census Vintage 2025)
Sources
31 (31 Tier 1)
Short answer

The routine fire inspection fee for a 2,500 sq ft restaurant ranges from $0 to $702 across 23 of the 50 largest U.S. cities, with a median of $150 (schedules in force in 2026). A 10,000 sq ft office pays nothing in 12 of the 23 cities, and no more than $250 in any of them.

$840highest combined charge for both businesses (Oakland)[25]
0.67xmedian first reinspection fee relative to the routine restaurant charge[2][3][4][5][6][7][8][9][10][11][12][13][14][15][16][17][18][19][20][21][22][23][24][25][26][27][28][29][30][31]

Fire inspection fee for a small restaurant and an office in 23 cities

Restaurants pay in most of the priced cities; offices often pay nothing. The median restaurant charge is $150, the median office charge is $0, and California cities sit at the top.

Reference restaurant: A 2,500 sq ft full-service restaurant (Group A-2) with an occupant load of 99 and one kitchen hood suppression system, no sprinkler or fire alarm system. The occupant load stays under the 100-person line used, for example, by Washington, DC's assembly permit, which applies only above 100 persons.

Reference office: A 10,000 sq ft one-story business occupancy (Group B) with no hazardous materials, no sprinkler system and no fire alarm system.

Routine charge: Every fee a city's published fire prevention schedule attaches to the routine inspection cycle: the inspection fee itself plus any annual operational permit or registration that the reference business needs, assuming it passes on the first visit.

Routine fire inspection charges for two reference businesses

Restaurant (2,500 sq ft) plus office (10,000 sq ft), one routine cycle, 20 cities that charge

Routine fire inspection charges for two reference businessesHorizontal bar chart of combined routine charges for a 2,500 sq ft restaurant and a 10,000 sq ft office. Oakland is highest at $840, San Jose $702, Los Angeles $516; Austin is lowest of the cities that charge at $30. San Antonio, Philadelphia and Tucson charge $0 and are not shown.$Oakland840San Jose702Los Angeles516Dallas505Chicago500New York485Mesa459Charlotte455San Diego423Albuquerque350Washington300Tampa255Aurora246Fort Worth210Portland205Phoenix195Colorado Springs164Minneapolis163Jacksonville112Austin30.0

Source: published city fire prevention fee schedules opened 2026-10-27; Fire Life and Safety calculation

Oakland has the highest combined charge at $840: an engine company annual inspection of $224 plus a $392 place of assembly permit for the restaurant (FY 2026-27 master fee schedule). San Jose follows at $702, all of it the minimum annual Fire Safety Permit for the restaurant (2025-26 fees).

Three of the 23 cities charge nothing for either reference case: San Antonio (Sec. 11-16), Philadelphia (L&I fee regulations) and Tucson (TFD fee schedule). Their schedules price reinspections, system permits and specific hazards, not the routine visit.

Reference-case routine fire inspection charges, 23 of the 50 largest U.S. cities Download CSV
CityStateCensus rankPopulation 2025Restaurant chargeOffice chargeBoth casesCost indexHow the fee is calculatedSchedule date
OaklandCA45440,838$616$224$840329.4flat annual engine-company inspection fee plus annual operational permits; inspector time $392 per hour2026-07-01
San JoseCA13989,814$702$0$702275.3annual Fire Safety Permit per site, $702 to $2,840 including 2 to 9 base inspection hours; hourly $136 per half hour2025-07-01
Los AngelesCA23,869,089$516$0$516202.4operational permit priced as inspector hours x hourly rate2019-10-31
DallasTX91,329,491$505$0$505198.0certificate of registration for high-risk occupancies + inspection fee by square-footage band2023-10-01
ChicagoIL32,731,585$500$0$500196.1flat fee per inspection for Group A and multi-story buildings; $2,300 for high-rises2026-06-17
New YorkNY18,584,629$485$0$485190.2occupant-load bands for place of assembly permit; per-permit flat fees; hourly $210 for other inspections2022-04-15
MesaAZ38513,656$283$176$459180.0risk-based inspection fee (low risk triennial, medium biennial, high risk annual by size) plus $15 annual Fire Safety Operational Permit for every business2026-07-01
CharlotteNC14964,784$225$230$455178.4mandated inspection fee by square-footage band plus renewable operational permits2026-07-01
San DiegoCA81,406,106$423$0$423165.9hourly ($282/hr) for annual inspection plus $141 per operational permitaccessed 2026-10-27
AlbuquerqueNM32556,588$100$250$350137.3Fire and Life Safety Fee by square-footage band, paid with annual business registration2019-07-01
WashingtonDC22693,645$150$150$300117.6flat $150 per site visit per discipline, tied to business license renewal; place of assembly permit only above 100 occupants2017-04-27
TampaFL49413,554$135$120$255100.0square-footage bands plus $30 per life safety system2016-10
AuroraCO50410,053$142$104$24696.5primary inspection fee by occupancy group and occupant load or square feet, charged once per 1, 2 or 3-year cycleaccessed 2026-10-27
Fort WorthTX101,028,117$145$65$21082.4square-footage base fee once per calendar year plus operational permits2026-10-01
PortlandOR28635,109$100$105$20580.4basic fee per occupancy + area fee + occupancy surcharges, with discounts for no hazards and sprinklers2019-07-01
PhoenixAZ51,665,481$195$0$19576.5hourly ($195/hr) with base-time minimums per permit2026-01-20
Colorado SpringsCO40494,743$164$0$16464.3annual revocable operational permits; no routine inspection fee for non-permitted occupancies2015
MinneapolisMN46430,324$58$105$16363.9annual commercial building registration fee by building sizeaccessed 2026-10-27
JacksonvilleFL111,017,689$22.50$90$112.5044.1$0.009 per square foot, maximum $5,000accessed 2026-10-27
AustinTX121,002,632$30$0$3011.8no fee for routine maintenance inspection; annual Fire Protection System Permit $30 per fixed system2025-10-01
San AntonioTX71,548,422$0$0$00.0no routine fee for restaurants or offices; flat fees for state-required inspections, labs, high-rises, permits2025-05-01
PhiladelphiaPA61,574,281$0$0$00.0no routine fire inspection fee; construction permits and licenses only2025-01-01
TucsonAZ34548,371$0$0$00.0no routine inspection fee listed; permits priced in staff hours at $88.28 per hour2025-07-01

Restaurant: 2,500 sq ft, occupant load 99, one hood suppression system, no sprinkler or alarm system. Office: 10,000 sq ft one-story Group B, no hazardous materials. One routine cycle, passed on the first visit. Cost index: combined charge divided by the median combined charge ($255), times 100.

Source: [2][3][4][5][6][7][8][9][10][11][12][13][14][15][16][17][18][19][20][21][22][23][24][25][26][27][28][29][30][31] FDNY; Los Angeles Fire Department, Board of Fire Commissioners; Los Angeles Fire Department; Phoenix Fire Department; San Diego Fire-Rescue Department; Dallas Fire-Rescue, Inspection & Life Safety Education Division; City of Tampa, Tampa Fire Rescue; City of Chicago (American Legal Publishing); City of Fort Worth, Bureau of Fire Prevention; City of Fort Worth; City of San Jose; City of Charlotte, Charlotte Fire Department; City of San Antonio; City of Fort Worth, Bureau of Fire Prevention; City of Jacksonville; City of Austin; City of Philadelphia, Department of Licenses and Inspections; City of Philadelphia, Department of Licenses and Inspections; City of Portland, Portland Fire & Rescue; City of Albuquerque, Albuquerque Fire Rescue Fire Marshal's Office; City of Albuquerque, Fire Marshal's Office; City of Mesa; DC Fire and EMS Department; City of Oakland; City of Colorado Springs; City of Tucson, Tucson Fire Department; City of Aurora, Aurora Fire Rescue; City of Minneapolis; Columbus Division of Fire, Fire Prevention Bureau; City of Miami

For the inspections themselves and what an inspector checks in each building type, see the restaurant guide and the office guide.

Square feet, occupant load, inspector hours or no routine charge

Cities use four billing models, and the model decides whether a small office pays anything.

  • Square-footage bands or per-square-foot rates for most commercial occupancies: Tampa, Fort Worth, Jacksonville, Charlotte, Albuquerque, Portland, Aurora and Minneapolis. These are the cities where the office pays (for example $250 in Albuquerque and $90 in Jacksonville).
  • Assembly occupancies only: New York, Los Angeles, Phoenix, Dallas, Chicago, Colorado Springs and San Jose charge the restaurant through an assembly permit, an annual Group A inspection fee or high-risk registration, and the low-rise office pays $0.
  • Hourly or flat per-visit billing: San Diego bills $282 per hour for annual inspections of assemblies and other listed occupancies (San Diego); Oakland charges a flat $224 per engine-company annual inspection; Mesa charges a flat fee per visit on risk-based cycles.
  • No routine charge: San Antonio, Philadelphia and Tucson.
How the routine charge is distributed across 23 cities

Number of cities in each charge band

How the routine charge is distributed across 23 citiesGrouped bar chart. For the office, 12 of 23 cities charge $0 and none charge $300 or more. For the restaurant, 8 cities fall between $100 and $199 and 5 charge $500 or more.0510.015.0cities312.0$032$1 to $9986$100 to $19923$200 to $29920$300 to $49950$500 and overRestaurantOffice

Source: published city fire prevention fee schedules opened 2026-10-27; Fire Life and Safety calculation

12 of the 23 cities (52.2%) charge the reference office nothing for a routine inspection. Where an office does pay, the median is $120. Where the restaurant pays, the median is $179.50.

Inspection cycles differ. Mesa inspects low-risk occupancies every three years ($161) and high-risk occupancies under 12,000 sq ft every year ($268), plus a $15 annual permit for every business. Aurora restarts its cycle every one, two or three years by occupancy risk. Our table counts one cycle, so a triennial fee is not divided by three.

How each city's reference charge was calculated Download CSV
CityRestaurant calculationOffice calculationDocumentURL
Albuquerque1,501 to 6,000 sq ft band $1006,001 to 12,000 sq ft band $250Chapter 83, Required Inspections, Fees and Rates; Fire and Life Safety Fee overview (fee collected with business registration since July 1, 2019)https://www.cabq.gov/fire/our-department/fire-marshals-office/resolveuid/6c101aa6ec82486293671d7466404c5c
AuroraAssembly, 50 to 500 occupants $142Business 5,001 to 10,000 sq ft base $79 + $2.50 per 1,000 sq ft x 10 (total-area reading of the formula)Aurora Fire Rescue Fees web page (Inspection Fees; Non-Compliance/Re-Inspection Fees; Operational Permit Fees)https://www.auroragov.org/cms/One.aspx?portalId=16242704&pageId=17707264
AustinFire Protection System Permit, 1 kitchen hood system x $30No fixed fire protection system in the reference office; no routine inspection fee listedExhibit A, City of Austin Fiscal Year 2025-2026 Fees, Fines and Other Charges (Fire – General Fund)https://services.austintexas.gov/edims/document.cfm?id=456571
CharlotteMandated inspection fee 2,500 to 4,499 sq ft $160 + Places of Assembly permit $65Mandated inspection fee 8,000 to 15,999 sq ft $230Charlotte Fire Department FY27 User Fee Schedulehttps://www.charlottenc.gov/files/sharedassets/city/v/5/public-safety/fire/documents/user_fee_schedule.pdf
ChicagoGroup A annual inspection fee $500 (15-4-030(a),(d))One-story Group B office is not in the 15-4-030 inspection classesMunicipal Code of Chicago 15-4-030 Annual inspections (amended Coun. J. 6-17-26)https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/chicago/latest/chicago_il/0-0-0-2676790
Colorado SpringsOP14 Places of assembly, up to and including 300 occupancy, annual revocable $164No annual operational permit for a Group B office without hazardous materialsColorado Springs Fire Department 2015 Fee Schedule – Code Services (linked from the CSFD fee schedules page)https://coloradosprings.gov/system/files/feeschedule_codeservices_final_2015.pdf
DallasHigh-risk certificate of registration $280 + public assembly under 5,000 sq ft inspection $225Low-rise office is not a high-risk occupancy; no routine feeSchedule of Permit Fees 2024 (City of Dallas Ordinance 32556, effective 10/01/2023)https://dallascityhall.com/departments/fire-rescue/FPEI%20Docs/Schedule%20of%20Permit%20Fees%202024.pdf
Fort WorthBase fee, less than 5,000 sq ft $60 + Places of Assembly permit (occupant load under 300) $85Base fee, 5,001 to 10,000 sq ft $65Ordinance No. 26-28781, fire code related fees, effective 10/1/2026 (Appendix H tables H104.1, H104.2; Table 1102.1)https://www.fortworthtexas.gov/files/assets/public/v/1/fire/documents/fire-code-related-fees-10-1-26.pdf
Jacksonville2,500 sq ft x $0.00910,000 sq ft x $0.009City of Jacksonville City Fees page, Fire and Rescue Inspections (Section 420.104) and Plan Review Fees (Section 123.102)https://www.jacksonville.gov/departments/finance/city-fees
Los AngelesOperational permit A-2 Food/Drink Assemblage 50-99 occupants, 2.0 inspector hours = $516 (FY 2019-20 schedule)No operational permit for a Group B office in the scheduleFY 2019-20 Annual Cost of Special Services Fee Adjustments, Board of Fire Commissioners resolution (C.F. 19-0956); Section 118 plan-check and inspection fees effective 2026-01-05https://cityclerk.lacity.org/onlinedocs/2019/19-0956_rpt_LAFD_11-01-2019.pdf
MesaHigh risk occupancy under 12,000 sq ft $268 (annual) + Fire Safety Operational Permit $15; restaurant assumed high riskLow risk occupancy $161 (triennial) + Fire Safety Operational Permit $15; office assumed low riskSchedule of Fees and Charges, Mesa Fire and Medical (updated for July 2026)https://www.mesaaz.gov/files/assets/public/v/5/government/omb/fees-charges/fire-medical-fees.pdf
MinneapolisCommercial size 0 to 5,000 sq ft $58Commercial size 5,001 to 10,000 sq ft $105Commercial Building Registration page (annual registration fee that funds fire inspections)https://www.minneapolismn.gov/business-services/licenses-permits-inspections/fire-permits/commercial-building-registration/
New YorkPlace of assembly permit, occupancy 75 to 149 = $415 + commercial kitchen permit $70No annual permit or inspection fee listed for a Group B office2022 NYC Fire Code Appendix A, Section FC A03 (fees per year unless hourly)https://www.nyc.gov/assets/fdny/downloads/pdf/about/appendix-a-2022.pdf
OaklandEngine company annual inspection $224 + Places of Assembly (50+ persons) operational permit $392Engine company annual inspection $224City of Oakland Master Fee Schedule, Fire Department, effective July 1, 2026 (FY 2026-27 adopted)https://www.oaklandca.gov/files/assets/city/v/2/finance/documents/financial-reporting/master-fee-schedules/fiscal-year-2026-27-adopted-mfs.pdf
PhiladelphiaNo routine fire inspection fee or annual fire permit for a restaurant in the L&I fee regulationsNo routine fire inspection fee for an office in the L&I fee regulationsL&I Regulations governing fee increases for permits and licenses, effective January 1, 2025; L&I Administrative Code course summary, Chapter 9 Fees (6/26/2024)https://www.phila.gov/media/20240903113807/li-regs-permit-license-fee-increase-schedule-amendment-2024-09-20.pdf
PhoenixPlaces of Assembly operational permit, minimum 1 hour at $195No operational permit or assessment for a Group B office without hazardous materialsFire Prevention Fee Schedule, effective 1/20/2026, V1.1https://www.phoenix.gov/content/dam/phoenix/firesite/documents/Fire%20Prevention%20Fee%20Schedule%20Effective%201-20-2026.pdf
PortlandBasic $50 + area fee ($10 + $1.00 per 100 sq ft over 1,000 = $25) + Assembly occupancy fee $25(Basic $50 + area fee $10 + $1.00 x 90 = $100) x 0.70 no-hazard discount for business occupanciesFire regulations fee schedule, Exhibit A (Ordinance 189527, dated July 1, 2019), Code Enforcement fees, penalties and discountshttps://www.portland.gov/fire/permits-inspections/documents/exhibit-fee-schedule/download
San AntonioNo annual inspection fee listed for a restaurant or other Group A-2 occupancy under Sec. 11-16No annual inspection fee listed for a low-rise office under Sec. 11-16City Code Sec. 11-16, Fees for certain permits and services, in San Antonio Fire Code Amendments 2024 IFC (effective May 1, 2025; Mar. 2025 printing)https://docsonline.sanantonio.gov/DSDUploads/2024FireCodeAmendments.pdf
San Diego1 inspector hour x $282 + public assembly operational permit $141Group B offices are not on the annual inspection list (assemblies, schools, care, residential)Inspection Services web page (fees for annual inspections)https://www.sandiego.gov/fire/community-risk-reduction/inspection-services
San JoseFire Safety Permit, minimum of range $702 (includes 2 base inspection hours), 2025-26 adoptedNo Fire Safety Permit required for a Group B office; no routine fee listedDepartmental Fees and Charges, Fire (2025-2026 adopted and 2026-2027 proposed columns)https://www.sanjoseca.gov/home/showpublisheddocument/131068/639148030102270000
TampaUp to 5,000 sq ft $75 + hood extinguisher system $30 + emergency lighting $305,001 to 10,000 sq ft $90 + emergency lighting $30Fire Code Compliance Inspection Fees (page notes 'Updated October 2016')https://www.tampa.gov/fire-rescue/info/fee-schedule/inspection-fees
TucsonNo annual inspection or assembly permit fee listed for a restaurantNo annual inspection fee listed for an officeTFD Fee Schedule, Rev. 07.01.25 (image PDF, text read by OCR)https://www.tucsonaz.gov/files/sharedassets/public/v/1/fire/pdfs/tfd-permit-fee-schedule.pdf
WashingtonCommercial fire inspection $150 (occupant load 99, so no Place of Public Assembly permit)Commercial fire inspection $150District of Columbia Fire Code Permit and Inspection Fee Schedule (DCMR 12H Section 113), updated 4-27-17https://fems.dc.gov/sites/default/files/dc/sites/fems/service_content/attachments/FEMS%20Fee%20Schedule%20%28Updated%204-27-17%29.pdf

Every component is a line item in the cited document; see tables/registry.csv for the full price register.

Source: [2][3][4][5][6][7][8][9][10][11][12][13][14][15][16][17][18][19][20][21][22][23][24][25][26][27][28][29][30][31] FDNY; Los Angeles Fire Department, Board of Fire Commissioners; Los Angeles Fire Department; Phoenix Fire Department; San Diego Fire-Rescue Department; Dallas Fire-Rescue, Inspection & Life Safety Education Division; City of Tampa, Tampa Fire Rescue; City of Chicago (American Legal Publishing); City of Fort Worth, Bureau of Fire Prevention; City of Fort Worth; City of San Jose; City of Charlotte, Charlotte Fire Department; City of San Antonio; City of Fort Worth, Bureau of Fire Prevention; City of Jacksonville; City of Austin; City of Philadelphia, Department of Licenses and Inspections; City of Philadelphia, Department of Licenses and Inspections; City of Portland, Portland Fire & Rescue; City of Albuquerque, Albuquerque Fire Rescue Fire Marshal's Office; City of Albuquerque, Fire Marshal's Office; City of Mesa; DC Fire and EMS Department; City of Oakland; City of Colorado Springs; City of Tucson, Tucson Fire Department; City of Aurora, Aurora Fire Rescue; City of Minneapolis; Columbus Division of Fire, Fire Prevention Bureau; City of Miami

Failing the inspection: free second visits and escalating ladders

A failed inspection usually costs less than the routine fee itself: the median first charged reinspection is 0.67 times the restaurant charge. Seven cities raise the fee with each return visit.

Four cities waive the first reinspection outright: Jacksonville, Albuquerque, Mesa and Washington, DC. Tampa charges nothing if the reinspection is satisfactory and double the initial fee if it is not (Tampa). San Diego covers a second visit inside its hourly fee and adds $300 per visit from the third (San Diego).

Reinspection fee ladders in five cities

Fee charged for the 1st, 2nd and 3rd reinspection (restaurant case, one violation class)

Reinspection fee ladders in five citiesGrouped bar chart. Portland charges $250, $400 and $700 for the first three reinspections; Dallas $171, $200 and $255; Washington, DC charges nothing until the third ($150); Albuquerque and Mesa charge nothing for the first and $60 and $50 from the second.0200400600800$2501710001st reinspection400200060.050.02nd reinspection70025515060.050.03rd reinspectionPortlandDallasWashingtonAlbuquerqueMesa

Source: Portland, Dallas, DC, Albuquerque and Mesa fire fee schedules opened 2026-10-27

Portland has the steepest ladder: $250, $400 and $700 for the first three reinspections with one violation class open, a ratio of 2.8 from first to third (Exhibit A). Aurora goes from $66 to $183 (2.77 times) and Dallas from $171 to $255 (1.49 times).

In 3 cities the first charged reinspection costs more than the routine restaurant charge: Tampa (2.0 times), Portland (2.5 times) and Austin, where a $148 hourly reinspection compares with a $30 annual system permit. In 10 cities it costs less. Violations that most often trigger a return visit are ranked in our fire code violations report.

Reinspection fees and the penalty multiple Download CSV
City1st reinspection2nd reinspection3rd reinspectionFirst charged fee / restaurant chargeRule as published
Albuquerque$0$60$600.6Re-inspection fee $60 assessed from the second re-inspection onward (8305.1); first re-inspection not charged
Aurora$66$183n/a0.46Non-compliance/re-inspection: first $66, additional reinspection $183
Austin$148$148n/a4.93Maintenance subsequent (failed) inspection $148 per hour; 1 hour assumed
Charlotte$120n/a$1850.531st site visit re-inspection $120; 3rd re-inspection $185 (2nd re-inspection not listed)
Chicagon/an/an/an/aCurrent reinspection fee not located in the opened code text (chapter page returned HTTP 403)
Colorado Springs$123$246n/a0.75First reinspection $123 per hour; subsequent inspections $246 per hour (1 hour assumed)
Dallas$171$200$2550.341st $171, 2nd $200, 3rd and each subsequent $255
Fort Worthn/an/an/an/aOrdinance lists $125 per hour for additional construction inspections; no separate reinspection fee for annual inspections found. Bureau Q&A: re-inspections due to code violations on permits 4-hour minimum $440
Jacksonville$0$22.50n/a1.0First re-inspection no charge; second re-inspection $0.009 per sq ft (restaurant case)
Los Angeles$516$516n/a1.0Non-compliance inspection fee: 2-hour minimum or $516 (LAMC 57.104.12.1.1, FY 2019-20)
Mesa$0$50$500.18Re-inspection fee under 100,000 sq ft $50 per site visit starting with the third visit
Minneapolisn/an/an/an/aReinspection fees not shown in the static part of the fee schedule
New York$210$210n/a0.43Re-inspection to confirm correction of violations $210 per hour per inspector (A03.1(45)); assumed 1 hour
Oakland$157$157n/a0.25Engine company re-inspection $157 per re-inspection
Philadelphian/a$100$200n/aSecond re-inspection $100, third $200, fourth and later $350 where non-compliance persists
Phoenix$195$195n/a1.0Reinspection minimum $195 (1 hour), each
Portland$250$400$7002.5Unmitigated violations on reinspection: first $100 per violation class + $150; second $100 + $300; third and later $100 + $600 (one violation class assumed)
San Antonio$150$150n/an/aReinspection fee $150 for each inspection or reinspection not approved (11-16(c)(1)); minor re-inspection $35
San Diego$282$582n/a0.67Second visit covered by hourly fee ($282, 1 hour assumed); third and later visits $300 per visit plus hourly fee
San Jose$272$272n/a0.39Reinspection of uncleared violations at the hourly rate, $136 per half hour; 1 hour assumed = $272
Tampa$270$270n/a2.0Satisfactory re-inspection no charge; unsatisfactory re-inspection double the initial inspection fee; fourth re-inspection double the previous fee
Tucsonn/an/an/an/aNo reinspection line in the schedule
Washington$0$0$1501.0First re-inspection included in the inspection fee; $150 applies to the third and later re-inspections

n/a means the schedule does not list that visit. Multiple = first charged reinspection fee divided by the restaurant routine charge; where a fee is hourly, one hour is assumed.

Source: [2][3][4][5][6][7][8][9][10][11][12][13][14][15][16][17][18][19][20][21][22][23][24][25][26][27][28][29][30][31] FDNY; Los Angeles Fire Department, Board of Fire Commissioners; Los Angeles Fire Department; Phoenix Fire Department; San Diego Fire-Rescue Department; Dallas Fire-Rescue, Inspection & Life Safety Education Division; City of Tampa, Tampa Fire Rescue; City of Chicago (American Legal Publishing); City of Fort Worth, Bureau of Fire Prevention; City of Fort Worth; City of San Jose; City of Charlotte, Charlotte Fire Department; City of San Antonio; City of Fort Worth, Bureau of Fire Prevention; City of Jacksonville; City of Austin; City of Philadelphia, Department of Licenses and Inspections; City of Philadelphia, Department of Licenses and Inspections; City of Portland, Portland Fire & Rescue; City of Albuquerque, Albuquerque Fire Rescue Fire Marshal's Office; City of Albuquerque, Fire Marshal's Office; City of Mesa; DC Fire and EMS Department; City of Oakland; City of Colorado Springs; City of Tucson, Tucson Fire Department; City of Aurora, Aurora Fire Rescue; City of Minneapolis; Columbus Division of Fire, Fire Prevention Bureau; City of Miami

Hood suppression tests, small alarm and sprinkler jobs, after-hours visits

One-time system fees vary more than routine fees. A hood suppression system permit, test or plan review costs from $50 to $1,149 (median $235).

Office corridor with exit sign, extinguisher cabinet and pull station
Illustrative photograph. Generated image, not a specific project.

Albuquerque charges $50 for a wet chemical system protecting up to 5,000 sq ft (Albuquerque). Oakland charges $1,149 for any pre-engineered system, including UL 300 kitchen systems (Oakland). New York charges $285 for a mechanical-only acceptance test and $580 for a mechanical and electrical test (Appendix A). How hood systems are serviced between inspections is covered in our kitchen hood suppression guide.

Published inspector hourly rates

Rate billed for reinspections, extra time or unlisted services

Published inspector hourly ratesHorizontal bar chart of inspector hourly rates in 16 cities, from $392 in Oakland to $65 in Washington, DC; the median is $136.50.$ per hourOakland392Los Angeles379San Diego282San Jose272New York210Phoenix195Dallas150Austin148Fort Worth125Columbus123Colorado Springs123Miami104Portland100Tucson88.3San Antonio80.0Washington65.0

Source: published city fire prevention fee schedules opened 2026-10-27

Published inspector hourly rates run from $65 in Washington, DC to $392 in Oakland across 16 cities, with a median of $136.50. Los Angeles bills $379 per hour for inspection and re-inspection under its January 5, 2026 Section 118 schedule (LAFD Section 118).

Minimum charge for one after-hours fire inspection

Lowest bill for a single inspection outside business hours

Minimum charge for one after-hours fire inspectionHorizontal bar chart of after-hours minimum charges in 10 cities, from $1,375 in Oakland to $160 in San Antonio; the median is $412.$Oakland1,375Los Angeles883Phoenix585Columbus523Miami416San Jose408Austin338Charlotte300Colorado Springs246San Antonio160

Source: published city fire prevention fee schedules opened 2026-10-27; minimum hours as stated in each schedule

After-hours inspections carry minimums of one to four hours. The smallest after-hours bill is $160 in San Antonio (2 hours at $80) and the largest is $1,375 in Oakland (2.5 hours at $550). Columbus adds a $30 trip charge to a 4-hour minimum at $123.24, for $522.96 (after-hours request form).

Hourly, after-hours and system fees Download CSV
CityInspector hourly rateAfter-hours minimumAfter-hours ruleHood system feeHood fee basisSmall alarm jobSmall sprinkler jobAlarm and sprinkler basis
Albuquerquen/an/aPer AFR Fire Service Statement (rate not in the opened document)$50Wet chemical and other special extinguishing systems, up to 5,000 sq ft protected area $50 (construction permit)$50$75Fire alarm up to 10,000 sq ft $50; automatic sprinkler up to 10,000 sq ft $75 (plan review/construction permit)
Auroran/an/aInspector weekend/after-hours fee listed as $240 with a 4-hour minimum (unit not stated, so not compared)n/an/an/a
Austin$148$338After-hours fee $169 per inspector per hour, 2-hour minimum$370Kitchen hood UMC Type I extinguishing system test $370$63$125Fire alarm plan review 1 to 10 devices $63; sprinkler plan review 11 to 25 heads $125
Charlotten/a$300After-hours construction inspection $300n/a$240$345Fire alarm plans (shop drawings) $240; fire sprinkler plans (shop drawings) $345
Chicagon/an/an/an/an/a
Colorado Springs$123$246Overtime inspections $246 first incident, $123 per subsequent hourn/an/an/a
Columbus$123.24$522.96Hourly rate $123.24 x 4-hour minimum = $492.96 + $30 trip chargen/an/an/a
Dallas$150n/aStandby personnel $150 per hour$250Commercial cooking fire-extinguishing system permit $250n/an/a
Fort Worth$125n/a$235Pre-engineered kitchen hood extinguishing system $235 per hood$590$350Fire alarm 5 to 25 devices $590; sprinkler 1 to 20 heads $350 (permit incl. plan review)
Jacksonvillen/an/a$125Plan review, new hood systems $125$100$125Fire alarm alterations up to 5,000 sq ft $100; sprinklers relocated up to 50 heads $125
Los Angeles$379$883Off-hours: $504 (4-hour minimum) plus $379 per hour of inspection; 1 hour assumed = $883n/aNot separately priced; construction inspection billed at $379 per hour (Section 118, 2026)$1,137$1,137Fire/life safety plan review: greater of 0.111% of valuation or $1,137 (Section 118, eff. 2026-01-05)
Mesan/an/an/an/an/a
Miami$104$416$104 per hour per inspector, 4-hour minimumn/an/an/a
Minneapolisn/an/an/a$75.40$75.40Fire protection system permit minimum $75.40 (valuation-based above that)
New York$210n/aHourly fee based on cost of services incl. overtime (A03.1(66)); no fixed rate$285Acceptance test, commercial cooking extinguishing system, mechanical only $285; mechanical and electrical $580n/an/a
Oakland$392$1,375After-hours inspection $550 per hour, 2.5-hour minimum$1,149All pre-engineered systems (FM200, UL300) construction permit $1,149 flat$689$689Fire alarm and detection systems $689 flat; sprinkler system modification for tenant improvement $689 flat
Philadelphian/an/aAfter-hours fee per hour with 4-hour minimum (rate not stated in the opened document)$158Commercial kitchen extinguishing system permit $158 each (A-902.2.6)n/a$76Relocation of sprinkler heads, first 20 heads $76 (A-902.2.6.1)
Phoenix$195$585After-hours inspections minimum 3 hours = $585$682.50Automatic hood plan review $390 (2 hours) + inspection $292.50 (1.5 hours)$390$292.50Fire alarm modification with plan review, first 1-10 devices $390; sprinkler OTC change of 1-20 heads without hard lid $292.50
Portland$100n/aStand-by fee per inspector, minimum 1 hour $100n/an/an/a
San Antonio$80$160After-hours inspection $80 per man-hour, 2-hour minimum$150Fixed pipe automatic extinguishing systems in hoods and ducts, per system $150$150$150Fire alarm remodel 1 to 20 devices $150; sprinkler remodel 1 to 20 heads $150 (plan review, inspection and test)
San Diego$282n/an/an/an/a
San Jose$272$408After-hours inspection 1.5 times hourly rate, 1 hour minimum = $408n/aFixed fire systems priced at hourly rate with base hoursn/an/a
Tampan/an/an/an/an/a
Tucson$88.28n/a$176.56Cooking suppression system new or modification, 2 hours x $88.28 (plus 1% digital filing fee, minimum $17.66)$176.56$176.56Fire alarm modification under 20 devices, 2 hours; sprinkler modification, 2 hours (+$2.41 per head over 20); 2 x $88.28
Washington$65n/aUse of personnel (fire inspector) $65 per person per hour, 4-hour minimum, for special events and fire watchn/a$150$150Plans review $150 per set

Small alarm job: about 10 devices added to an existing system. Small sprinkler job: about 20 heads added or relocated. Where a fee is priced in hours, the published hourly rate is applied.

Source: [2][3][4][5][6][7][8][9][10][11][12][13][14][15][16][17][18][19][20][21][22][23][24][25][26][27][28][29][30][31] FDNY; Los Angeles Fire Department, Board of Fire Commissioners; Los Angeles Fire Department; Phoenix Fire Department; San Diego Fire-Rescue Department; Dallas Fire-Rescue, Inspection & Life Safety Education Division; City of Tampa, Tampa Fire Rescue; City of Chicago (American Legal Publishing); City of Fort Worth, Bureau of Fire Prevention; City of Fort Worth; City of San Jose; City of Charlotte, Charlotte Fire Department; City of San Antonio; City of Fort Worth, Bureau of Fire Prevention; City of Jacksonville; City of Austin; City of Philadelphia, Department of Licenses and Inspections; City of Philadelphia, Department of Licenses and Inspections; City of Portland, Portland Fire & Rescue; City of Albuquerque, Albuquerque Fire Rescue Fire Marshal's Office; City of Albuquerque, Fire Marshal's Office; City of Mesa; DC Fire and EMS Department; City of Oakland; City of Colorado Springs; City of Tucson, Tucson Fire Department; City of Aurora, Aurora Fire Rescue; City of Minneapolis; Columbus Division of Fire, Fire Prevention Bureau; City of Miami

Which of the 50 largest cities publish a usable fee schedule

We could price both reference cases in 23 of the 50 largest cities, home to 64.0% of the 50 cities' population. The rest were blocked, moved or not found.

The 23 priced cities hold 32,849,001 residents out of 51,316,953 in the 50 largest cities (Census Vintage 2025, SUB-EST2025). Houston, San Francisco, Seattle, Fresno, Nashville, Detroit, Milwaukee and Denver could not be read because the city website blocked or did not answer automated requests. Columbus and Miami publish after-hours rates but no routine fee we could find.

Coverage: the 50 largest U.S. cities and whether a fee schedule could be priced Download CSV
Show all 50 rows
Census rankCityStatePopulation 2025Status
1New YorkNew York8,584,629Priced: both reference cases
2Los AngelesCalifornia3,869,089Priced: both reference cases
3ChicagoIllinois2,731,585Priced: both reference cases
4HoustonTexas2,397,315Not retrieved: houstontx.gov did not respond and the Houston Permitting Center returned HTTP 403
5PhoenixArizona1,665,481Priced: both reference cases
6PhiladelphiaPennsylvania1,574,281Priced: both reference cases
7San AntonioTexas1,548,422Priced: both reference cases
8San DiegoCalifornia1,406,106Priced: both reference cases
9DallasTexas1,329,491Priced: both reference cases
10Fort WorthTexas1,028,117Priced: both reference cases
11JacksonvilleFlorida1,017,689Priced: both reference cases
12AustinTexas1,002,632Priced: both reference cases
13San JoseCalifornia989,814Priced: both reference cases
14CharlotteNorth Carolina964,784Priced: both reference cases
15ColumbusOhio938,396Partial: after-hours rate only; routine fee schedule not located
16IndianapolisIndiana901,116Not located: the fire department web page tried did not load in this pass (moved page or server error)
17San FranciscoCalifornia826,079Not retrieved: sf-fire.org and sfbos.org returned a bot challenge (HTTP 202)
18SeattleWashington784,777Not retrieved: fee tables sit in SMC 22.602.045 on Municode and the City Clerk site, both behind a bot challenge
19DenverColorado740,613Not retrieved: denvergov.org rejected the request
20NashvilleTennessee721,074Not retrieved: nashville.gov returned HTTP 403
21Oklahoma CityOklahoma719,849Not located: a 40-page crawl of the city website found no fire prevention fee schedule
22WashingtonDistrict of Columbia693,645Priced: both reference cases
23El PasoTexas683,012Not located: a 40-page crawl of the city website found no fire prevention fee schedule
24Las VegasNevada679,817Not located: only construction plan-check fee tables found on lasvegasnevada.gov
25BostonMassachusetts672,973Not located: a 40-page crawl of the city website found no fire prevention fee schedule
26DetroitMichigan649,095Not retrieved: detroitmi.gov returned HTTP 403
27LouisvilleKentucky641,962Not located: the fire department web page tried did not load in this pass (moved page or server error)
28PortlandOregon635,109Priced: both reference cases
29MemphisTennessee609,647Not located: the fire department web page tried did not load in this pass (moved page or server error)
30BaltimoreMaryland569,997Not located: the fire department web page tried did not load in this pass (moved page or server error)
31MilwaukeeWisconsin562,407Not retrieved: city.milwaukee.gov returned HTTP 403
32AlbuquerqueNew Mexico556,588Priced: both reference cases
33FresnoCalifornia555,549Not retrieved: fresno.gov master fee schedule returned HTTP 403
34TucsonArizona548,371Priced: both reference cases
35SacramentoCalifornia536,449Not located: fee lookup on cityofsacramento.gov is an interactive search
36AtlantaGeorgia529,110Not located: the fire department web page tried did not load in this pass (moved page or server error)
37Kansas CityMissouri521,220Not located: the fire department web page tried did not load in this pass (moved page or server error)
38MesaArizona513,656Priced: both reference cases
39RaleighNorth Carolina506,306Not located: the fire department web page tried did not load in this pass (moved page or server error)
40Colorado SpringsColorado494,743Priced: both reference cases
41MiamiFlorida489,812Partial: after-hours rate only; routine fee schedule not located
42OmahaNebraska488,797Not located: the fire department web page tried did not load in this pass (moved page or server error)
43Virginia BeachVirginia453,737Not located: the fire department web page tried did not load in this pass (moved page or server error)
44Long BeachCalifornia450,469Not located: a 40-page crawl of the city website found no fire prevention fee schedule
45OaklandCalifornia440,838Priced: both reference cases
46MinneapolisMinnesota430,324Priced: both reference cases
47BakersfieldCalifornia422,165Not located: the fire department web page tried did not load in this pass (moved page or server error)
48TulsaOklahoma416,209Not located: only a hazardous materials fee ordinance found on cityoftulsa.org
49TampaFlorida413,554Priced: both reference cases
50AuroraColorado410,053Priced: both reference cases

Rank and population: Census Vintage 2025. Status reflects this pass on 2026-10-27; 'not located' does not mean a city charges nothing.

Source: [1][2][3][4][5][6][7][8][9][10][11][12][13][14][15][16][17][18][19][20][21][22][23][24][25][26][27][28][29][30][31] U.S. Census Bureau, Population Estimates Program; FDNY; Los Angeles Fire Department, Board of Fire Commissioners; Los Angeles Fire Department; Phoenix Fire Department; San Diego Fire-Rescue Department; Dallas Fire-Rescue, Inspection & Life Safety Education Division; City of Tampa, Tampa Fire Rescue; City of Chicago (American Legal Publishing); City of Fort Worth, Bureau of Fire Prevention; City of Fort Worth; City of San Jose; City of Charlotte, Charlotte Fire Department; City of San Antonio; City of Fort Worth, Bureau of Fire Prevention; City of Jacksonville; City of Austin; City of Philadelphia, Department of Licenses and Inspections; City of Philadelphia, Department of Licenses and Inspections; City of Portland, Portland Fire & Rescue; City of Albuquerque, Albuquerque Fire Rescue Fire Marshal's Office; City of Albuquerque, Fire Marshal's Office; City of Mesa; DC Fire and EMS Department; City of Oakland; City of Colorado Springs; City of Tucson, Tucson Fire Department; City of Aurora, Aurora Fire Rescue; City of Minneapolis; Columbus Division of Fire, Fire Prevention Bureau; City of Miami

How to read your own city's fire marshal inspection fee

Four questions decide what a business pays: the billing model, the occupancy class, the cycle length and the reinspection rule.

  • Find the billing model: square-footage band, occupancy permit, hourly rate or none. The model sets whether an office or retail space pays at all.
  • Check the occupancy thresholds. Assembly permits often start at 50 occupants (Oakland, San Diego, Aurora) or another figure (New York bands start at 75; DC's permit applies above 100).
  • Check how often the inspection recurs. Mesa's low-risk cycle is three years; Aurora uses risk-based cycles and DC ties the inspection to business license renewal.
  • Read the reinspection rule before the first visit. Four of the 23 cities waive the first reinspection; seven escalate.

Which inspections and permits apply to a building type is summarized in our requirement finder. State-level code editions are compared in fire code adoption by state, and Texas, Florida and North Carolina specifics are on the Texas, Florida and North Carolina pages.

Inspection binder and clipboard beside a fire extinguisher in a restaurant
Illustrative photograph. Generated image, not a specific project.

Ratios behind the comparison

Reference-case routine charge

Formulasum of the routine inspection fee and any annual permit or registration the reference business needs, from each city's published schedule

Inputs: fact sheet rows 51 to 193; derived rows r1 to r69 (fact sheet rows)

Result: Restaurant median $150 (range $0 to $702); office median $0 (range $0 to $250)

The restaurant pays in 20 of 23 cities because assembly occupancies are inspected and permitted almost everywhere; offices pay only where a city bills every commercial occupancy.

Limitations: Two invented but typical businesses; real bills depend on occupancy classification, systems present and inspector time.

Share of cities charging for the routine inspection

Formulacities with a charge > $0 / 23 x 100

Inputs: derived rows d10 to d14 (fact sheet rows)

Result: 20 of 23 (87.0%) charge at least one reference case; 11 (47.8%) charge both; 3 (13.0%) charge neither

Charging only for reinspections is the minority model among the priced cities.

Limitations: 23 of 50 cities; the 27 not priced may differ.

Reinspection penalty multiple

Formulafirst charged reinspection fee / restaurant routine charge (one hour where hourly)

Inputs: derived row d15; table t2 (fact sheet rows)

Result: Median 0.67 (range 0.18 to 4.93, 17 cities)

In most cities a failed inspection adds less than the routine fee; the cost rises with each return visit where a ladder exists.

Limitations: Cities with no routine charge are excluded because the ratio is undefined; hourly fees assume one hour.

Fire inspection cost index

Formula100 x (restaurant + office charge) / median combined charge of the 23 cities ($255)

Inputs: derived rows r3 to r69 and d7 (fact sheet rows)

Result: Oakland 329.4, San Jose 275.3, Los Angeles 202.4; Tampa 100.0; Austin 11.8; three cities 0.0

An index of 200 means a business pays twice what the median priced city charges for the same two reference cases.

Limitations: Equal weight to the two cases; one-cycle basis ignores multi-year cycles.

California gap

Formulamedian combined charge of the 4 California cities vs the 19 others

Inputs: derived rows d26 and d27 (fact sheet rows)

Result: $609 vs $210

Three of the four California cities price inspections and permits from inspector hours, and their hourly rates are among the highest published.

Limitations: Four California cities only; Fresno, Sacramento, San Francisco, Long Beach and Bakersfield were not priced.

Download the calculations (CSV)

Where the numbers diverge

  1. The median routine charge for a 2,500 sq ft restaurant is $150 across 23 of the 50 largest U.S. cities (2026 schedules).[2][3][4][5][6][7][8][9][10][11][12][13][14][15][16][17][18][19][20][21][22][23][24][25][26][27][28][29][30][31]
  2. The highest restaurant charge is $702 in San Jose, the minimum annual Fire Safety Permit for 2025-26.[12]
  3. 12 of 23 cities (52.2%) charge nothing for a routine inspection of a 10,000 sq ft office.[2][3][4][5][6][7][8][9][10][11][12][13][14][15][16][17][18][19][20][21][22][23][24][25][26][27][28][29][30][31]
  4. The highest office charge is $250, in Albuquerque, where the Fire and Life Safety Fee is collected with business registration.[21][22]
  5. Oakland has the highest combined charge for both reference businesses, $840 under its FY 2026-27 master fee schedule.[25]
  6. San Antonio, Philadelphia and Tucson charge no routine fee for either reference business; they price reinspections, systems and hazards instead.[14][18][19][27]
  7. The four California cities priced have a median combined charge of $609, against $210 for the other 19 cities.[25][12][3][4][6]
  8. The median first charged reinspection costs 0.67 times the routine restaurant charge (17 cities).[2][3][4][5][6][7][8][9][10][11][12][13][14][15][16][17][18][19][20][21][22][23][24][25][26][27][28][29][30][31]
  9. Jacksonville, Albuquerque, Mesa and Washington, DC waive the first reinspection.[16][21][22][23][24]
  10. Portland's reinspection fees climb from $250 to $400 to $700 for the first three return visits with one violation class open (2019 schedule).[20]
  11. Published inspector hourly rates range from $65 (Washington, DC) to $392 (Oakland); the median of 16 cities is $136.50.[24][25]
  12. One after-hours fire inspection costs at least $160 in San Antonio and at least $1,375 in Oakland; the median minimum of 10 cities is $412.[14][25]
  13. Hood suppression system permit, test or plan review fees range from $50 (Albuquerque) to $1,149 (Oakland), median $235 across 11 cities.[21][22][25]
  14. The 23 priced cities hold 64.0% of the population of the 50 largest U.S. cities (Census Vintage 2025).[1]

Summary

  • We priced a 2,500 sq ft restaurant and a 10,000 sq ft office in 23 of the 50 largest U.S. cities using each city's own published fee schedule.
  • The restaurant's routine charge has a median of $150 and ranges from $0 to $702.
  • The office pays nothing in 12 cities; the highest office charge is $250.
  • 20 of 23 cities (87.0%) charge at least one of the two businesses for the routine inspection; 3 charge neither.
  • California cities charge a median $609 for both businesses combined, against $210 for the others.
  • A first charged reinspection costs a median 0.67 times the routine restaurant charge; 4 cities waive it and 7 escalate with each visit.
  • Inspector hourly rates run from $65 to $392; after-hours minimums from $160 to $1,375.

Questions people ask

how much is fire inspection fee

A median of $150 for a small restaurant and $0 for a small office, across 23 large U.S. cities' 2026 schedules. See the table for your city.

fire marshal inspection fee

Fire marshal offices bill through the same fire prevention fee schedule: an annual inspection fee, an operational permit, or both. Chicago charges $500 a year for Group A buildings (Municipal Code 15-4-030).

how much does a fire inspection cost

The city fee is the smaller part: a median $150 for a restaurant. Contractor charges for testing alarms, sprinklers and extinguishers are separate and are not covered here.

what happens if you fail a fire inspection

The inspector returns after the correction period, and most cities bill the return visit: a median of 0.67 times the routine restaurant charge for the first charged reinspection, rising in seven cities with each further visit.

fire inspection permit cost

Place of assembly permits for a small restaurant range from $65 (Charlotte) to $392 (Oakland) per year in the cities that require one for an occupant load of 99.

For journalists and researchers

If you cite only a few, cite these

  1. A small restaurant pays a median $150 in routine fire inspection fees across 23 of the 50 largest U.S. cities; a small office pays $0 in 12 of them.[2][3][4][5][6][7][8][9][10][11][12][13][14][15][16][17][18][19][20][21][22][23][24][25][26][27][28][29][30][31]
  2. Oakland's combined charge for a 2,500 sq ft restaurant and a 10,000 sq ft office, $840, is 329.4 percent of the median city's.[25]
  3. California's four priced cities charge a median $609 for the two reference businesses, nearly three times the $210 median elsewhere.[25][12][3][4][6]

Most quotable statistics

  • A small restaurant pays a median $150 in routine fire inspection fees across 23 of the 50 largest U.S. cities; a small office pays $0 in 12 of them.[2][3][4][5][6][7][8][9][10][11][12][13][14][15][16][17][18][19][20][21][22][23][24][25][26][27][28][29][30][31]
  • Oakland's combined charge for a 2,500 sq ft restaurant and a 10,000 sq ft office, $840, is 329.4 percent of the median city's.[25]
  • California's four priced cities charge a median $609 for the two reference businesses, nearly three times the $210 median elsewhere.[25][12][3][4][6]
  • Portland charges $700 for a third reinspection with one violation class still open, 2.8 times its first reinspection fee.[20]
  • Four of 23 large cities waive the first fire reinspection: Jacksonville, Albuquerque, Mesa and Washington, DC.[16][21][22][23][24]
  • An after-hours fire inspection costs at least $1,375 in Oakland and $160 in San Antonio.[25][14]

Press summary

Fire Life and Safety opened the published fire prevention fee schedules of the 50 largest U.S. cities and priced two reference businesses in the 23 cities whose schedules could be retrieved and applied. A 2,500 sq ft restaurant pays a median $150 for its routine fire inspection and permits, with a range from $0 in San Antonio, Philadelphia and Tucson to $702 in San Jose. A 10,000 sq ft office pays nothing in 12 of the 23 cities and at most $250. California cities charge the most: a median $609 for both businesses combined, against $210 elsewhere. Failing an inspection usually costs less than the inspection itself (median multiple 0.67), but seven cities raise the fee with every return visit, up to $700 for a third reinspection in Portland. Minimum after-hours bills range from $160 to $1,375. The dataset, formulas and every source document are published under CC BY 4.0.

Suggested headlines

  • Small restaurants pay a median $150 for routine fire inspections in big U.S. cities
  • Offices pay no routine fire inspection fee in 12 of 23 large cities
  • Oakland tops big-city fire inspection charges at $840 for two small businesses
  • Failing a fire inspection costs less than passing one in most large cities, until the third visit
  • California cities charge nearly three times the median fire inspection fee

How to cite this report

Fire Life and Safety. (2026). Fire Inspection Fee by City: What 23 Large U.S. Cities Charge Businesses. Retrieved from https://firelifeandsafety.com/reports/fire-inspection-fees-by-city/

Reuse license

Data and tables are licensed CC BY 4.0. Attribution: “Source: Fire Life and Safety, Fire Inspection Fee by City: What 23 Large U.S. Cities Charge Businesses” with a link to this page.

Download the data

Every table in this report is available as a CSV under CC BY 4.0. The fact sheet lists each value with its source URL and access date.

Frequently asked questions

How much is a fire inspection fee for a business?

For a 2,500 sq ft restaurant, the median routine charge across 23 of the 50 largest U.S. cities is $150, with a range of $0 to $702. For a 10,000 sq ft office the median is $0 and the highest is $250 (Albuquerque).

Is the fire marshal inspection free?

In some cities. San Antonio, Philadelphia and Tucson list no routine fee for a restaurant or office, and 12 of 23 cities charge nothing for the office. Reinspections, system tests and permits are still billed.

Why do restaurants pay more than offices?

In the priced schedules, assembly occupancies such as restaurants carry permits or inspection fees that offices do not. New York charges $415 for a place of assembly permit (75 to 149 occupants) plus $70 for a commercial kitchen permit; a low-rise office there pays no routine fee.

What does a fire reinspection cost?

Among 17 cities with both a routine charge and a reinspection fee, the first charged reinspection costs a median 0.67 times the routine restaurant charge. Dallas charges $171, $200 and $255 for the first three; Phoenix charges $195 per reinspection.

Is the first fire reinspection free?

In Jacksonville, Albuquerque, Mesa and Washington, DC it is. Tampa charges nothing for a satisfactory reinspection and double the initial fee for an unsatisfactory one.

How much does an after-hours fire inspection cost?

Across 10 cities the minimum after-hours bill ranges from $160 (San Antonio) to $1,375 (Oakland), with a median of $412. Minimums run one to four hours.

How much does the fire department charge to test a kitchen hood suppression system?

Austin charges $370 for a Type I hood extinguishing system test, New York $285 for a mechanical-only acceptance test, Fort Worth $235 per pre-engineered hood and Dallas $250 for the system permit.

How do cities calculate the fire inspection fee?

By square-footage band (Tampa, Fort Worth, Charlotte, Albuquerque, Minneapolis), by occupancy permit (New York, Los Angeles, Phoenix, Chicago), by the hour (San Diego at $282) or per square foot (Jacksonville at $0.009, up to $5,000).

Which large city charges the most for fire inspections?

Of the 23 priced, Oakland has the highest combined charge for both reference businesses at $840, an index of 329.4 against the median city at 100.

How often is a business inspected?

Chicago's code requires an annual inspection of Group A buildings, and San Diego inspects public assemblies every year. Mesa inspects low-risk occupancies every three years and medium-risk every two; Aurora uses one, two or three-year cycles by occupancy risk.

Methodology

Scope. We started from the 50 most populous incorporated places in the U.S. Census Bureau's Vintage 2025 city estimates (consolidated cities use the balance figure). For each, we looked for the fire department's or fire marshal's own published fee schedule, ordinance or fee page. We opened 31 documents from 25 cities between 2026-10-26 and 2026-10-27 and saved a copy of each.

Reference cases. Restaurant: 2,500 sq ft, Group A-2, occupant load 99, one kitchen hood suppression system, no sprinkler or fire alarm system. Office: 10,000 sq ft, one-story Group B, no hazardous materials. The routine charge is every fee the schedule attaches to the routine inspection cycle for that business (inspection fee, annual operational permit, registration), assuming it passes on the first visit. Where a fee is billed by the hour, one inspector hour is assumed. Where a city assigns risk classes, we assumed the restaurant is high risk and the office low risk (stated per city in table t4).

Inclusion and exclusion. A city enters the medians only when both reference cases could be priced from documents we opened. Columbus and Miami contribute only after-hours rates. Fees charged by contractors for testing systems, false alarm fines, hazardous materials permits, plan review based on construction valuation, technology surcharges and state fire marshal fees are excluded. State fire marshal schedules were not compiled in this release.

Conflicting or dated figures. We used the newest adopted schedule each city links today. Several are old (Colorado Springs 2015, Washington, DC 2017, Portland and Albuquerque 2019, Los Angeles FY 2019-20 operational permits) and are flagged with their dates in table t1. Where a schedule shows both adopted and proposed figures (San Jose), we used the adopted figures and report the proposed ones in the notes.

Derived metrics. Medians include cities that charge $0. The cost index is 100 times a city's combined charge divided by the median combined charge ($255). The reinspection multiple divides the first charged reinspection fee by the routine restaurant charge and is undefined where the routine charge is $0. All calculations are in scripts/analyze.py and derived_metrics.csv.

Limitations. 23 of 50 cities is not a random sample: cities that block automated requests or publish fees only in code libraries are missing. Real bills depend on how a city classifies the occupancy, the systems present and the time an inspector spends. Some cities inspect on two or three-year cycles; our figures are per cycle.

Not legal advice. This report summarizes published municipal fee schedules for comparison. It is not legal, tax or compliance advice, and fee amounts change by ordinance. Confirm the current fee with your local fire prevention bureau before budgeting or filing.

Last updated 2026-10-27. Data and tables are licensed CC BY 4.0: credit 'Fire Life and Safety, Fire Inspection Fees by City (2026)'.

This report presents published data with its limitations. It is not legal, engineering, financial or investment advice. Requirements depend on the code edition your state and local fire marshal have adopted; confirm with your authority having jurisdiction.

Sources, ranked by quality

Tier 1: primary and official sources (31)

Never miss an inspection date. Get a printable calendar for your building.

Get your free inspection calendar